Itawis (Itáwit)

Itawis is a member of the Northern Luzon branch of the Malayo-Polynesian language family. It is spoken in northern Luzon in the Philippines, particularly in Cagayan province in the Cagayan Valley region, and in Apayao province in the Cordillera Administrative Region. In 2005 there were about 189,000 speakers of Itawis, which is also known as Itawes, Itawis and Tawit.

There are two dialects of Itawis: Malaweg (Malaueg) and Itawis (Itawit). It is closely related to South Ibanag and Ilocano.

Itawis alphabet and pronunciation

Itawis alphabet and pronunciation

Download an alphabet chart for Itawis (Excel)

Sample text (Philippine National Proverb)

Ya tolay nga mari mallipay tsa naggafuananna, mari makakandet tsa angayanna.


Those who forget their roots will not grasp their future


Sample videos

Information about Itawis | Numbers


Information about the Itawis alphabet and languages

Northern Luzon languages

Arta, Balangao, Bontoc, Bugkalot, Dupaningan, Gaddang, Ibaloi, Ibanag, Ifugao, Ilocano, Isinai, Itawis, Kankanaey, Pangasinan, Yogad

Languages written with the Latin alphabet

Page last modified: 09.06.24


Green Web Hosting - Kualo

Why not share this page:


The Fastest Way to Learn Korean with KoreanClass101

If you like this site and find it useful, you can support it by making a donation via PayPal or Patreon, or by contributing in other ways. Omniglot is how I make my living.


Note: all links on this site to, and are affiliate links. This means I earn a commission if you click on any of them and buy something. So by clicking on these links you can help to support this site.

Get a 30-day Free Trial of Amazon Prime (UK)