- which is the best language course or software - compare

Learn French with Frantastique

The Ancients alphabet    Ancients alphabet

The Ancients alphabet is the written language of the Ancients (Anquietas), a race of highly advanced 'ancient' Humans who evolved in this galaxy millions of years ago. The original version of the Ancients font was first seen in the SG-1 episode "Torment of Tantalus" and was conceptualized by Ivana Vasak. The heavy, block style was inspired by a font used on a 1940s Czech propaganda poster, and the Ancients font was eventually refined and alphabetized by Boyd Godfrey for the pilot episode of Stargate Atlantis. Much of the Ancients text seen on the show contains 'in-jokes' not meant to be read by the viewers.

Notable features

Used to write

English and the Ancients language (Lingua Anquietas), a conlang based on Latin.

Ancients alphabet

Ancients alphabet

Sample text in the Ancients alphabet

Sample text in the Ancients alphabet


All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights. They are endowed with reason and conscience and should act towards one another in a spirit of brotherhood.
(Article 1 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights)

Download a Ancients alphabet font (TrueType, 7K)


Official websites

Ancients language

The info on this page was put together by Greig Isles. You can contact him at

Fictional alphabets

Cheap Web Hosting