- which is the best language course or software - compare

Learn French with Frantastique

Ryakumoji   Ryakumoji

Ryakumoji (略文字), from Japanese 略 (ryaku), abbreviation, and 文字 (moji), characters/letters, is a system of writing the kana syllabic scripts of Japanese with fewer characters to r emember. It was invented by deramoz out of his interest in the Japanese scripts, with both of them as inspiration for the shape of each letter.

There are a total of only 17 Ryakumoji: 5 vowels (aiueo), 8 consonants (kstnhmyr), (w)o, hatsuon (ending n'/m/ng sound), sokuon (assimilated sound っ/ッ), and chouon (long vowel mark ー). Also used are the voiced marks, dakuten (゛) and handakuten (゜). It's a syllabic alphabet written left to right horizontally, usually blending one character into the next in a single line. A new line is started if the next letter is "a", if the last letter was "n'" or a sokuon, or if the letters "m", "y", "r" or "(w)o" are encountered. Ryakumoji can be written by considering each character that needs to be represented.

Notable features



All kana and most possible youon represented in Ryakumoji

All kana and most possible youon represented in Ryakumoji

Sample text

Sample text in the Ryakumoji alphabet

Standard Japanese version

(Article 1 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights)

Transliteration (rōmaji)
Subete no ningen wa, umare nagara ni shite jiyū de ari, katsu, songen to kenri to ni tsuite byōdō de aru. Ningen wa, risei to ryōshin o sazukerareteari, tagai ni dōhō no seishin o motte kōdōshinakerebanaranai.


All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights. They are endowed with reason and conscience and should act towards one another in a spirit of brotherhood.
(Article 1 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights)

Japanese language | Written Japanese | Hiragana | Katakana | Kanji | Rōmaji | Phrases | Numbers | Colours | Time | Tower of Babel | Articles | Links | Learning materials

Other constructed scripts

Cheap Web Hosting